Arrogance vs Selfishness vs Greed

If someone were to come up to me and say, “T.J., what are your three worst qualities?” I wouldn’t have a problem explaining what I view are my three worst qualities and why. Arrogance, selfishness, and greed. “What?!” you may be saying, “I don’t think you’re any of those things.” And I would definitely reply with, “Ah, if you only knew.” Now, I know that I have a lot of good qualities. I know that some people view me as nice, funny, compassionate, helpful, cool, relaxed, and random (my all-time favorite quality). But, the questions was what my worst qualities are, not my best. So, without further ado, what I really think of me. 🙂

Arroagance: It’s fun being arrogant. I grew up a goody-two-shoes Mormon who thought he was better than everyone else. I still deal with this false sense of over-security. Well, I also deal with a lot of self-doubt, but that’s a total different subject. Again, it’s fun being arrogant. I like acting like I own the world sometimes or that I’m better than everyone. And, sometimes I do it without meaning too. And, other times, it’s just an act and it’s really a faux haughty act that people are witnessing. Hmm…keep ’em guessing.

Selfishness: I am very selfish. I like things my way. I like to get what I want and not worry about what others want. I’m sorry, I’m selfish that way. Now, I go back and forth between selfish and selfless, to be quite honest. There’s this 12-year old momma’s boy in me that recalls being the baby of the family and always getting his way. But then there’s that same 12-year old whose mom taught him that giving to others is just as important. Christmas is a very giving time and I like to give. But the day before is my most selfish day as it’s my birthday and I like to receive the bratty prince treatment on that day. Oh well *shrugs*

Greed: I’m so greedy/materialistic. If I had all the money in the world, I’d own more things than have money. For example, Amazon would be sending me a shipment of dvds every Tuesday when they come out. I don’t want all of them, but there are a lot that I would be buying. Video game software would be at my door almost every day. Probably because I’d get sick of the game from the prior day by the time the next one arrived. I’d own three Ipods and have all the same songs on them, one at work, one in my car, and one at home. I’d have DirecTV (with NFL Sunday ticket, of course). We’d have far too many bookcases that we’d have a room with enough books to look like a Barnes and Noble store. My bank account would have to be split between three banks/credit unions just to make sure that I had my money taken care of. I’d be eating out for lunch 3-4 times a week. We’d be eating out for dinner at least once a week. I’m one of those “If you’ve got it, flaunt it.” I’d do some nice things for others (probably expecting selfish praise).

See what a curse money would be for me. It’d feed my arrogant, selfish, and greedy natures. To quote one of my all-time favorite movies, and definitely my all-time favorite musical: Perchik: Money is the world’s curse. Tevye: May the Lord smite me with it. And may I never recover.

3 Responses

  1. I wish DirecTV offered a pick your favorite team package. I would totally buy MLB: Dodgers Ticket. 😀

  2. I knew you were arrogant, selfish, and greedy. I think it’s funny that you don’t think is shows! Hahahahahaha!

Comments are closed.

