Who Needs Sleep?

I love the lyrics to the Barenaked Ladies’ song, Who Needs Sleep? Here’s a sampling for you:

Lids down, I count sheep
I count heartbeats
The only thing that counts is
that I won’t sleep
I countdown, I look around

Who needs sleep?
(well you’re never gonna get it)
Who needs sleep?
(tell me what’s that for)
Who needs sleep?
(be happy with what you’re getting
There’s a guy who’s been awake
since the Second World War)

It’s interesting, this sleep thing. A lot of people need at least ____ hours of sleep (come to think of it, that blank looks like you should put in a double digit). Some people are so used to not sleeping, that it doesn’t really matter if they get less than four or five hours. Others see sleep as a necessary evil. And others can fall asleep whenever they want to. A week ago Sunday, Mary and I were up in Logan at her cousins for a get-together. One of her cousins was leaving on a mission. Well, we were discussing sleep with another of Mary’s cousins along with this cousin’s boyfriend. He told us that he could just fall over and be asleep. Now, in my J.D. like mind (if you’ve ever seen Scrubs, you know what I’m talking about), I saw about eight different ways this guy could just ‘fall over’ and be asleep. It was pretty funny. Ah, imaginations are awesome.

And then there’s me. Ok, so ever since we’ve moved to Eagle Mountain I’ve had less sleep. It didn’t help that James wasn’t even a month when we moved here or that on Lizzie’s 3rd birthday in July she decided that she was scared of monsters in her closet or under her bed. Regardless, I’ve dealt with James waking up in the middle of the night far too often, causing me to wake up. Lizzie is such a daddy’s girl that she comes to me and wakes me up if anything’s amiss. I’ve dealt with sinus infections and colds that have kept me up. My back has hurt to the point of waking me up a couple of times. And then, there are nights like tonight where nothing woke me up, I’m just suffering from insomnia.

There are a lot of traits I inherited from my dad. I love knowing history. I’m stubborn as a mule. I’m always right. I’m left-handed (that’s my favorite one). Oh, and I don’t sleep well. Now, I know that my dad does sleep some. However, I know that he’s been up for two or three hours watching the weather channel in the middle of the night. If I had tv, it’d be ESPN, of course I actually intentionally pay attention to that. So, I’d like to say thanks dad.

I don’t know why I’m asleep. Maybe it’s because now I have a mortgage. Maybe it’s because I have a lot of work stress (which sometimes I do, but in all honesty, not really often at all).  Maybe it has to do with having two children. Or maybe it’s just because my brain likes to function in the wee hours of the morning. I should get a paper route if I’m going to be up.

Oh well, thank goodness for Monster. Not the ones under Lizzie’s bed. The ones under my desk at work that give me more caffeine than a Costco box of candy.

One Response

  1. 1) Unisom!
    2) I am one of those people that can fall asleep anywhere and sleep like the dead regardless of what is going on around me.

Comments are closed.

