Three Down, Wow

I did it. Finally, I finished my 3rd draft. Sure it’s got some grammar errors that need to be fixed, descriptions that need to be added, and other descriptions that need to be shortened. There are probably a few clarifying points that need to be done. But you know what, I’m done with the third draft. Not only have I written a book, I’ve written the same book 3 times. That’s so impressive to me. I am one to never finish something that I start, just ask my dad, he’ll agree with me. So for me to have the patience to take 4 1/2 years to write this book, it’s a huge deal. Even if it never is published, it’s still an accomplishment.

This time, the story ends. It’s not a cliffhanger. There is a finite ending with some lingering questions available to go with for a sequel, and I wholeheartedly intend to write a sequel to this if it is published.

So, what’s next? Well, I’ve got to send to more agents (since only one of the other set of agents has responded semi-positively, and I’m still awaiting a further response from that one). But before more agents start receiving mail from me, I’ve got to prepare a synopsis. Wow, I never realized this before, but writing a concise synopsis sucks. Most people want 2-5 pages, as I’ve said. I just am having so much difficulty writing a synopsis. There is one agent who has asked for a chapter-by-chapter synopsis. My plan is to go through and write that. Hopefully, I can do a paragraph for each chapter and that will give me a basis to do a more concise synopsis (because the chapter-by-chapter one will probably take up 8-9 pages.)

But it’s cool, I’ve got 24 chapters plus a prologue in Eli and the Amethyst. I cannot believe that I’ve got that much done. It wasn’t easy, I gotta say (wow! Gotta is a word per WordPress?) it was definitely nice to say “I’m done!” again.

After I get some fine-tuning done on this book, my main plan is to start working on a completely different story. Yep. That’s my plan. Now that’s going to be very difficult to do. But I’ve got time before I try to adjust to that.

In answer to last time’s question, I’m going to have to narrow it down first (the question was which ‘universe’ would I want to live in.) I think I’ll have to rule out being a Jedi in the Star Wars universe. It’s far too much physical activity. I’m a lot lazier than that. I will probably have to say that my fear of heights may turn me against the Star Trek universe. The Magic multiverse or the Arrassnel universe. Well, since I created the Arrassnel universe, it’d be biased for me to say that I would like to live there. But, the Magic multiverse is awesome because it contains so many different worlds and magics, similar to Arrassnel. So, I’ll go with the Magic multiverse.

Today’s useless trivia question: Why did I choose the stone that Eli has in my book to be an amethyst?
a) It’s my birthstone, so it’s a vanity honoring to myself.
b) It’s Mary’s birthstone, so I’m honoring Mary.
c) purple is my favorite color, so I’m vainly honoring myself.
d) my mom was obsessed with purple and amethysts, so I’m honoring her with it.

One Response

  1. d??

    The book sounds like something I may be interested in reading.

Comments are closed.

