It’s So Original That It’s Not

Yesterday, I realized that I was running out of steam on Eli and the Amethyst. I just need to start writing something else for now. So, last night, I tried to work on this idea that I had recently, but nothing was coming. So, I didn’t get to do much writing. I did some brainstorming though, but it hurt my brain after a while. I can only take so much, you know. 😉

At LTUE (yes, I’m going to talk more about it), I heard Howard Tayler say “There are no original stories.” I liked that he said that. But it ticks me off when somebody tells me that a story they recently read is ‘completely original.’ I heard someone say “There hasn’t been anything original since Harry Potter.” That one, more than anything, ticks me off. Yes, I’m a Harry Potter fan. I’ve read all 7 books, but oddly enough, only have seen 5 of the 6 movies. When I asked how Harry Potter is original they start listing things that definitely are not original. Someone had the audacity to state the ‘good vs evil’ story was original. Poor Frodo, he must’ve been so evil. And those Pevensie children were absolutely horrible going into Narnia. Gees, what were they thinking?

One thing that ticks me off is the Hippogriff. Yeah, it’s a cool creature. Half horse, half eagle. But it wasn’t Rowling’s idea. That creature comes from mythology. Wikipedia has a decent early reference almost 500 years before J.K. Rowling added Buckbeak to the 3rd Harry Potter book.

Moving on, John Grisham is one of my favorite authors. But I think the dude is running out of ideas. Hearing that one of his latest works reminded the reader constantly of “The Runaway Jury” was a little disappointing. Reading “The Broker” saddened me as it felt like I was reading a different version of “The Summons.”

In trying to come up with something new in writing, it’s not that I’m trying to come up with an original idea. I feel that Howard Tayler would mock me for that. Not that I care what he thinks since he doesn’t know me. But when I’m famous, I don’t want him mocking me…well…not for that at least. I’m trying to think up something fresh and intriguing. I may steer a little away from my fantasy genre and go to speculative (ghost story or time travel). I want to do something because I know that the voices in my head…I mean….the ideas in my head are worth something to someone. It’s just a matter of finding that right someone.

I was working on something last night that would be an epic fantasy. But as I came up with the ‘fresh’ idea, I looked at my bookshelf. I saw the 8 Shannara books that I own (and have read) by Terry Brooks. I saw Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson that I need to continue/finish (after Fablehaven 4 is done). And I thought to myself, wow, this story may end up being exactly like those. Just a slightly different take.

So, in the end, I was a little depressed that I wasn’t coming up with something. This morning, though, I’ve decided to go with an idea that I’ve had for the last 3+ years and see where that takes me. Outlining, unfortunately will need to be done. Thank goodness for Dan Wells 7 key points process. (I absolutely have no idea what he called it in his presentation on Friday, but it was useful to me.) We’ll see what I get to do during lunch today and if I get anywhere. Maybe I’ll go back to Writing Excuses and find an interesting writing prompt to do again.

So, to answer yesterday’s useless trivia, I just have to say, it’s not the person I thought it’d be going into the conference. My favorite presenter at the conference was Dan Wells. I attended a presentation, two panels, and the live taping of writing excuses that he did. Somehow, he was easy to pay attention to. So was Dashner, but Dashner’s just a hilarious guy.

Today’s useless trivia question is brought to you by, well, me. Duh!
Which author’s books, when I look at them, make me want to yawn?
a) Brandon Sanderson
b) Robert Jordan
c) Dan Brown
d) Clive Cusseler
e) John Grisham

Fun for you. Now go out there and meet someone that’s a publisher and tell them that they have to publish my book. It’s a simple as that.

One Response

  1. You know who else fits the running out of ideas concept? James Horner.

Comments are closed.

