Phantasmagoria

Isn’t phantasmagoria the coolest word? And the best thing is, this blog has nothing to do with phantasmagoria. But click on the word earlier and enjoy reading its definition.

So, there’s a contest on this site to win a free book from a nice selection of Y.A. authors. I’ve entered in as many times as I can so far. Of course, if I win I’d want a copy of The Maze Runner by James Dashner. One day I’ll own that book. Of course, I have read/listened to it. But still, I don’t own it. Then I can go to one of his book signings and get it signed. Then I can be the dorkiest fan of James Dashner. (Someone has to be.) Oh, speaking of giveaways. This very pink blog is also doing a giveaway. And there are a couple books on there that I’d like. Again, one is The Maze Runner. Hey, if I don’t have to buy it, more power to me. (The other book I’d want is Bran Hambric, I’m sure you thought it was Evermore based off the cover.)

Today, I am brainstorming in my spare time. Of course, I don’t know that I have spare time. And I think my brain has leaked out after looking at too many useless blogs that think they’re funny. (ok, some are.) I keep wanting to write something new, except, I can’t come up with something that I’m passionate about enough to write. Yeah, it kinda sucks. I get going and seem to get nowhere. I keep going through different ideas and different concepts that I want to write about. I’m just not sure if I really care about any of them. The most annoying thing is that the ideas I have are all in different genres. Well, different sub-genres at least.

I’ve got an epic fantasy (That I’m calling Malashi and have been since I was 14). There’s a speculative time-travel story (That I’m calling A Time to Stop.) There’s a speculative ghost story (calling Ghost.) Oh and another speculative ghost story (calling this one The Secrets of Ludlow Mansion.) And then there’s a horror type story (called 1313 Elm Street) that I really don’t know what to do with. There’s a middle-grade/ya fantasy that I thought about (No title but it uses pre-established characters named Alice, Dorothy, and Peter and combines them in one story. My last note I made on this said “Really lame storyline ensues.” Definitely needs some work.) There’s another ya/epic fantasy (The Children of Ruln) that I started once upon a time and got nowhere with. Oh, and then there was a modern-day fairy-tale (Snow White) that really sounded dorky, chick-flicky, and not somewhere I ever thought I’d want to write (and still don’t really want to write it.)

Well, I guess I’m out of ideas. Yeah, it looks like it up there. For some reason, none of them motivate me. I don’t know, do any of them intrigue you?

4 Responses

  1. Maybe you should work on San Buena.

  2. I vote for time travel!

  3. Phantasmagoria is an awesome album too by a very cool band!

  4. […] my thoughts on Dashner. If not you can check out one of my many posts where he is mentioned: here, here, here, the question here, here, or here.) Tomorrow, I’m going to go to my first writing group […]

Comments are closed.

