Yppah S’lirpa Loof Yad

If you can’t figure out today’s blog title, well, then: E-M-E-T-I-B, now reverse it.

Mother nature decided to play a nice joke and make us think it’s winter outside. Seriously, I think I see Santa and his reindeer out there looking confused. (And everyone in Utah is making this same dumb joke.) Actually, I’m absolutely unsurprised that there is snow in Utah on April 1st. I’ve lived here since August 2003 and I have watched the pattern: annoying small snow storm sometime in October pre-Halloween, it’ll mostly melt away, a mild December with a decent snowfall (not in the mountains, there’s a whole different schedule there). In January we get to the ‘where’s the sun?’ phase that Utahans think is pretty funny (the joke, not the fact that it’s snowing.) February gets colder and maybe a little less snow. March starts to warm up, making people feel that there is hope again in the world. And then sometime between March 21st and April 30th there is at least one snowstorm in Utah. Duh! Gees, please don’t complain about it. Repetitive complaining is annoying. Believe me, I know. I’m one of the people violating the rule of ‘no repetitive complaining’ the most often.

I mean, really, do people in Utah not remember what the weather is like. People in California are not surprised when it rains. They’re not shocked when they get what can be classified as spit from the sky and Good Day L.A. is reporting “Storm Watch 2011”. There’s no double take when there are ‘April showers’. Shoot, if the storm is calm enough, people are still surfing.

There are those 10% of Utahans who aren’t complaining about the snow. Why? Because they’re skiing down Solitude, Snowbird, Alta, Brighton, and/or Sundance. They say ‘bring it on’ to the snow so that it’ll last longer. If you love skiing and snowboarding, wouldn’t you be grateful to be able to do it in May?

Do I like the snow? Yeah, it’s been a fairly dry winter and there hasn’t been enough precipitation. I’ll take the extra snow just fine. Am I annoyed that it’s snowing in April. Nope. It’s normal around here (IF YOU DIDN’T NOTICE). Am I in a bad mood? Or maybe I’m just playing my own April Fool’s joke. *shrug* All I’m going to say is:

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

