It’s Friday

It’s Friday, and you know what that means. Nothing really. But originally, this was my designated ‘Top 10 Day’. So, I’m going to do a Top 10 today. But not yet.

One week from today, I get to go to LDStorymakers 2010 Conference (there’s no ‘S’ missing, I promise). I’m so excited. Heather Moore wrote on her blog yesterday that there were 420 people that signed up for the conference. I’m actually really happy with that. (And no, it has nothing to do with the fact that that’s the common number associated with pot. Although, I do find it amusing…) I went to The Book Academy in  September and LTUE in February. I’m fairly certain there were at least 500 people at The Book Academy and even more at LTUE. However, I’m lousy at estimating numbers. I should seek the total number out. If this conference is smaller than both of those, then I’m going to be really excited to be among a smaller group of people. Plus, I get to go to the Bootcamp where I have to bring a copy of my work. Somehow, I went from intending to bring just one thing to thinking about bringing three. Supposedly, there are multiple tables that you can sit at and have an intense critique with a group of people. And each of those tables is under a different genre depending upon which ‘sergeant’ you have. Since I feel that I attempt to write in various fiction categories, I’m going to bring something for three of them.

Anyway, enough with the boring stuff. You’re here for something entertaining. So, what can I come up with today? Well, today’s topic is a little lengthier than a title. Here’s the thought: if you controlled how many hours there were in a day, how many would there be and how would you use them? My 10 items will complete this list in order that I think of them (or if I deem later, an order that is most pleasing to read.) And then we’ll add up how many hours are in my fictitious day 🙂

1. Sleep (8 hours): I’m just going to start with an easy one. I like sleep. I do follow Franklin’s admonition of “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” So far, I’m batting 0. Well, I’m a wise guy, but I don’t think that’s what Ben meant. Anyway, we all need and like sleep.

2. Work (8 hours): I’m talking my accounting job. Even though this is an ‘ideal’ day, work isn’t a bad thing. I was brought up to be lazy, selfish, and entitled. I have learned how to steer myself away from that. I’m grateful to my mother for a lot. But because I was a baby, she let me get away with almost everything. Either way, work is a good thing. I got my butt into gear and earned a Bachelor’s. This year I’m hopefully going to get my CMA certification. I do like my job and I would wish to continue to do it. (In this fictitious world, I do not have Donald Trump’s money.) Oh, but I would work from home or work closer to home.

3. Write (3 hours): I just don’t think that my ADHD would let me write for more than 3 hours. That reminds me, I need to research this ad I saw for this ADHD pamphlet and see how much money they’ll eventually be calling for if I do request the ‘free’ pamphlet. What was I talking about? Oh yeah, writing. Anyway, I’m just saying that I love to write. But I don’t think I can do it for more than 3 hours at a time. Of course, if I did end up with enough money to make writing a career, then yeah, I’d have 8 hours to write and these 3 hours freed up. Yeah for dream lives!

4. Eat (3 hours): Duh! I like food. Food is good. ‘Nuff said. Me want doughnut!

5. Television (3 hours): I can spend one hour a day watching a new episode of a tv show I like. The rest will be spent with sports and reruns. In this ‘world’ I have DirecTV’s SuperFan so I can enjoy NFL. The same goes for MLB and NBA games that I may be interested in watching. (Apryl, looks like the Devil’s not going to need that sweater this year still.)

6. Magic (3 hours): Whether or not my wife likes it. I’d spend 3 hours every ‘fake’ day playing Magic. I guess this must be an unlimited fund world for me, because that’d be necessary.

7. Exercising (2 hours): Come on. I’m lazy, but not that lazy. I’ve been enjoying convincing myself to use the stationary bike at work. I’ve done it a few times. Then I started not feeling well. Next Monday, it’s my fat Hungarian Hiney on that bike again! Oh, this number will have to go up on some days for Golf though.

8. Reading (2 hours): I’ve gotta read. I’d put a 1/2 hour for scripture study and 1/2 hour for leisure studying and 1 hour for leisure reading. Unless, the book takes my interest, Magic will have to lose at that point.

9. Family Time (3 hours): There’s a lot of personal time here. Playing games is part of family time. Eating is part of family time. But dedicated family time is really useful.

10. Nap (1 hour): With all this stuff, I’m going to need a nap in the middle of it somewhere.

What’s the grand total? That’s 36 hours in a day. Of course, traveling should be on here. There has to be weekly trips to the grocery store. But still, I say that I need to find a way to get the earth to slow it’s motion so that it takes 36 hours for earth to turn once on its axis. That’s only 150% of a normal day anyway. Come on, who’s with me? Maybe I can convince the aliens to help me out on this one. And with that:

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

One Response

  1. Ah naps…

Comments are closed.

