My New Favorite Old Show (and other weekend stuff)

This past weekend, we spent a lot of time enjoying Netflix on the Wii. It’s so awesome. (Except that there are about 1,000,000 other things that I wish were available.) We spent the majority of the tv time watching old episodes of Newsradio. It’s a great show. I laugh more at this show than I did at Friends. It’s Big Bang Theory caliber. It’s sad to know that Phil Hartman’s character is going to die at one point. Either way, the show is hilarious. There are 29 episodes combined in the first and second seasons. We watched 15 of them, I think. I was immediately addicted.

And yeah, Newsradio was originally done in 1995. But you know what, that doesn’t stop it from being a great show. Just like when TV Land came about. There were many shows that I hadn’t heard of before TV Land. But because of it, I was able to watch Petticoat Junction and Green Acres. More importantly, I learned all about Hogan’s Heroes and its krazy karacters (misspelling intentional). Because of USA I was able to watch a bunch of 80s shows (somehow, I can’t recall anything but My Two Dads, which I don’t recall liking very much). If only Netflix took requests…..there’s a lot that I’d like to watch.

In other random useless news: We ate at Red Robin on Saturday for dinner. Mary ate the Whisky River BBQ burger and I had the Banzai burger (before you start rolling your eyes thinking that I’m your mother going into far too much detail just to sound interesting, just know that I have a point.) I found this article about the 15 worst burgers in restaurants today. If you look at #5 (which is where the link should take you), you’ll notice that Mary’s choice of the Whisky River BBQ burger is the worst BBQ burger. And, ironically enough, my choice of the Banzai burger (granted, I had cheese and mayo) is deemed a ‘healthier alternative’.

It’s funny how much I try to eat healthy and I get called out for it. Last Friday, I went to lunch with my boss and two co-workers to this awesome deli called Pazzo Vita in Taylorsville. Because I’m trying to be ‘good’ I ordered the salad. What else was eaten at the table (by these three women)? A meatball sub, a philly steak sandwich, and a reuben. Now, unless my honey mustard dressing and crispy chicken breast had 100 grams of fat, I don’t think I had the least healthy meal there. Maybe I did. But I know that I was still full hours later and not sleepy, unlike my sleepy co-workers and boss. Anyway….

I’m counting the days until LDStorymakers. And I recently found my notes and such for this epic fantasy that I’m wanting to write. (Hey, I’m pretty long-winded, as you know, so I can write one, right?) 🙂 But, I haven’t decided what I’m going to do yet on anything, which is awesome. But, because of all the rejections that I’ve received, I’m going to wait until I sit through this conference and see about what I can do to tweak my query so that I may find an agent instead of…well…not finding an agent. Anyway, I’m looking forward to Friday and Saturday, more so than I did for The Book Academy or LTUE.

Well, that’s it for today…

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

One Response

  1. When at all possible, order your salad with dressing on the side.

Comments are closed.

