Top 10 Unread Books

The Lakers are 2-0 in the Western Conference Finals. Halfway to the NBA Finals again.

With that important announcement, I bring you useless information, as always. I figured that I hadn’t done a Top 10 Day in a while. So, today I bring you my Top 10 favorite books that I haven’t read. This means, it’s a list of books that I’m interested in reading, but never have read. If this had been a few weeks ago, book number 1 would have been I Am Not a Serial Killer. But I am two chapters away from finishing it and all I have to say is I can’t wait for lunch when I’m going to go to the gym, sit my fat Hungarian Hiney on the stationary bike, pedal, and finish this awesome book. Anyway…Top 10 books I want to read:

10. Catch-22: You know, I’m not sure why I want to read this. Something tells me my ADHD will kick in and get way too bored with it. But for some reason, it’s something I want to read.

9. Control Issues: Yeah, this book isn’t even out yet. It’s still going through revisions. But reading Elana Johnson’s query letters that she wrote concerning this book, makes me want to read it.

8. Variant: Another book that isn’t published yet. But Robison Wells is a decent enough guy that I’d be interested in reading it. I honestly don’t know what it’s about yet and when it’ll be published. But I stalk follow Rob on Twitter and his blog. I’m sure that I’ll eventually learn when his new book is being published.

7. Eddie Fantastic: This is one of the best YA LDS-fiction novels….supposedly. But I would really like to read it to see what everyone’s told me about. This book is a few years old. Supposedly, there’s been an updated version….not sure. Anyway, it does seem interesting enough to read.

6. Elantris: This will probably take me a year to read since I’m such a slow reader. But I”m really interested in reading the book that began Brandon Sanderson’s career that would eventually lead to the honor of finishing Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. I am going to have to read Wheel of Time sometime. But they combine for #1,000 on this list. Right behind the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

5. Dracula: The original “horror”. Well, one of them. Dracula takes place in Transylvania, which is where my grandparents went on their honeymoon in the 1940s. (How cool is that?) Dracula is also the original vampire. Before Edward there was Dracula. I’m sorry, but if I had to have someone have my back, it was Dracula. Of course, Dracula would probably have my neck as well.

4. A Christmas Carol: I think that Charles Dickens was awesome. A Christmas Carol has always been and always will be my favorite Christmas story. (I’m sorry, but just thinking of the Christmas Shoes makes me cry…no thanks. And thinking about the Christmas Story makes me wanna…well….shoot my eye out.) In all honesty, because of my love of Christmas, this story, and Muppets, A Muppet’s Christmas Carol is one of my top 3 favorite movies.

3. Mr. Monster: As I said, I’m two chapters away from finishing IANASK, and I can’t wait for the sequel due out in the Fall. Dan Wells is a strange man cool guy. Supporting his rise to ‘fame’ is in my plans, just like it is in my plans to support his brother.

2. The Hunger Games: I’ve heard a lot about this book. Suzanne Collins is supposedly a great storyteller. It’s a ‘must-read’ recommendation from many people. That puts it pretty high on my list. But not quite number one.

1. The Scorch Trials: Yes, my number one spot belongs to a book that isn’t even published yet. Yes, my number one spot belongs to my writing hero James Dashner. Why would that surprise people? Shoot, I’m currently half-way through his second 13th Reality book and will probably read the 3rd before The Scorch Trials is available. That reminds me…I still need to buy The Maze Runner.

I apologize for the lack of links to various websites today. I’m just pretty dang lazy at the moment. And Robison Wells is resting today, which makes me very jealous of him. Well, I shouldn’t blame him for my laziness……but it’s so fun. That, and I can’t wait until lunch to finish his brother’s book.

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

7 Responses

  1. I thought A Christmas Carol was boring / hard to get into.

  2. Eddie Fantastic is… a fantastic book. 🙂 As are Elantris and Hunger Games. I think I need to read HG again, in preparation for the third book coming out this August!

    I still need to read I Am Not a Serial Killer. I’m not into horror, though. Is it too freaky?

    • I describe I Am Not a Serial Killer as slightly more disturbing than the most disturbing CSI or NCIS episode you can think of. Well, maybe not that bad. I don’t know. I can read it before going to bed without nightmares (which so far means that Dan Wells has failed in his attempt to give me nightmares…Bwahahahahaha!!!) I recommend it, even still waiting to finish those last two chapters.

  3. Elantris is on my to-read list as well. So is Mr. Monster.

    I read an earlier version of Variant and loved it. It’ll be fun to see what changes Rob’s made.

    I loved The Hunger Games. Just finished the sequel, Catching Fire.

  4. I noticed a disturbing lack of historical romance. Where is your class, man?

    • Congratulations! You found the sentence that has both ‘disturbing’ and ‘historical romance’ in it. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before.
      I’m not bothered by the disturbing lack of historical romance. 😉

  5. I remember thinking that the ideas in Eddie Fantastic were really cool, but being really puzzled by the weird LDS connections. Then again, I read it as a teenager. Maybe it would make more sense to me now.

    Thanks for including my book! You only have to wait a really long time!

Comments are closed.

