Technological Overlords

One of my favorite TV shows is Friends. And despite the weird/random comparison between me and Chandler that I’ve actually never done, my favorite character is Phoebe. One of my favorite lines of hers is from the following scene:

Ross: Pheebs, you see how I’m making these little toys move? Opposable thumbs. Without evolution, how do you explain opposable thumbs?
Phoebe: Maybe the overlords needed them to steer their spacecrafts.

Now, ever since then, I use the term “Overlord” to signify a company with an overly ginormous market share (I didn’t know that ginormous is a dictionary-fied word, but WordPress thinks so. WordPress is still not a word by the way.)

There are four companies that I name Technological Overlords: Google (for internet searches and probably one of the best email services), Microsoft (for computer operating systems), Amazon (mostly for the kindle for eReaders, but online shopping is semi-appropriate as well), and Apple (for the mp3 player known as the iPod.)

I really don’t like the companies too much. However, I use their services. Yeah, I let Microsoft rule my computer operating system. Why? Because I haven’t any clue what the heck linux is and I really don’t care for the mac setup. Simple. I’m stubborn. Deal with it! I have a gmail account and use Google for all my internet searches. Why? Well, Bing is run by Microsoft, so it’s lose-lose there. Yahoo never seems to return what I want. So, I go with Google because 95% of the time I get what I’m looking for. Amazon is my favorite shopping place because it’s cheap. Shoot, if Borders or Barnes and Noble sold their DVDs for about 15-25% more than Amazon, I’d go buy there. But since they’re about 60% more, I buy through Amazon when I need to.

The Kindle, however is an item I do not use, nor do I intend to. It’s becoming the “everyone-has-one” item. I prefer the look of the Nook and hope to buy one from Barnes and Noble soon. Of course, so does my “I-can-read-a-book-in-three-hours” wife. It would still take me a year to read a Brandon Sanderson mainstream fantasy novel. (His Alcatraz series is MG/YA and I may be able to read them all in a year.) I am a big promoter of the Nook and will hopefully buy one. I won’t buy an iPad because…

I don’t like Apple. I don’t like their iTunes overtaking your computer and erasing the capability of converting your paid for (and occasional unpaid for) music into iTunes files. The classic brainwashing is at work here. Now, I bought my wife an iPod Touch for Mother’s Day. Why? Because she wanted one and I don’t force my beliefs on her concerning this. I don’t mind it’s evil presence in my home. I just don’t use it that much. I do like all its app capabilities. And I wouldn’t mind using it as much if there truly was a competitive like product out there.

That’s my biggest problem with these companies. Amazon seems to have the most competition since there are multiple companies that you can shop online at. You can get a Kindle from Amazon or a Nook from B&N or a Kobo from Borders or a Sony eReader and now the Super-Overlord Apple’s iPad. I like competition. Competition is healthy for a good economy. I try to steer clear from political and mostly religious stuff. But this time is an exception. Also, I love the word Overlord. Anyway, I believe the recession is partially to be blamed by companies killing the competition. Yeah, you don’t want a…well…not a monopoly…an oligarchy. (I can’t believe I recalled that term from Econ 2010. Click the word for its definition.) Anyway, I’d prefer an oligarchy for businesses (I truly believe that the auto industry is a pseudo-oligarchy and I believe it works generally ok because it’s got a healthy competition.) Anyway, this is my belief, thought, feeling, whatever. Yeah, you can say I’m wrong, but what you really ought to say is “I disagree with your opinion because…” Flat out saying “You’re wrong…” is followed by me hearing you see “blah, blah, blah, I’m a dirty tramp.”

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

One Response

  1. Phoebe: Sorry. ..Y’know, those stupid soda people gave me seven thousand dollars for the thumb.

Comments are closed.

