Land of the Living, Maybe

NaNoWriMo is done. I failed. I couldn’t get that last 37k done in the four hours I had to write yesterday from 8pm to midnight. (Yeah, like I stay up until midnight.) I did get 1k in actually, so that was nice. I’m up to over 14k in Eli as it is currently called.

But you know what December means? Of course not, I have to tell you. First: my goal of rewriting Eli in 2010 is coming to an end. Wait, I actually rewrote it once. I’m just doing it again. This revision will hopefully be the one that I get to use for LDS Storymakers in May.

Speaking of Storymakers, it’s the second thing that you should know about December. Why? Because registration for Storymakers starts December 15th. And my plan is to pitch to one of the agents that will be there. *cough*Sara Crowe*cough. I also know that my writing buddy Graham intends to pitch while she’s there. I don’t think we’re competing against one another. I’m sure Graham will stay up until midnight to make sure he gets prime pitching time. BTW: So will I. (Ok, not really. Didn’t we establish that me and midnight are like chocolate cake and onions?) Anyway, not sure why I’m talking about Graham…..

But, do you know what else happens in December? It’s near the latter part of the month. People get to open presents on this day. That’s right! My birthday! Christmas Eve will be awesome this year. Why? Because I don’t have to work for the first time in the last couple of years. Before this job I’d never worked or gone to school on my birthday. But with Christmas on a Saturday, our holiday falls on the Friday. Yay! And if you want to come by on December 24th to wish me a Happy Birthday, that’d be awesome (and so surprising it’s not even funny.)

Also, six years ago this month, my wife and I were married. I can’t believe it’s been six years already. I can’t believe we have the two cutest children in the world. (But we do.) These past six years have really been the best in my life. And I am very lucky to have my wife. (Especially because her eyes are so beautiful.)

(Yes, I do know there’s a holiday that a lot of people in the U.S. celebrate on the 25th. Seriously, I’m not thaaaat vain. Are you?)

Oh, so why did I title my blog the way I did? That’s because I really didn’t blog much in November due to–I’d love to say NaNoWriMo–work. It was just that hectic.

And, my body decided it wanted a cold to start December off. And I took some cold medicine. And let me tell you, I’m pretty dang loopy right now. I was trying to find a clip from the second episode of Mike & Molly to show as an example. But I suck at finding and embedding clips. One day I’ll learn how to do that better.

So, I welcome you into December with a wonderful thought:

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

