Wait, I’m Not Done?

Ok, first, no, I’ve not finished this draft of Eli yet. But I keep realizing more and more that the closer I get to finishing it, I’m still very far from finishing the book. What’s that mean?

Well, it means that I’m getting closer to beginning my revisions. Yeah, you know that quote I’ve given of Brandon Sanderson. “To begin is human, to finish divine, and to revise is pure hell.” My problem, I know that Eli is told by the viewpoint of a 14-year old. Unfortunately, I’m not fourteen anymore. I’m more than twice that. So, I’ve received the same comment from different people concerning my book in this regard: “He doesn’t speak like a teenager.”

Wow, I’m so out of it. I thought I was still cool and hip. (Wait, no, that would require having been cool and hip at one point in time.) Regardless, I really don’t know how teens speak today. But then I ask the question, don’t I want my book to be timeless? If I write it in today’s lingo, it’ll be old school in a matter of months. But I don’t want to use ‘BIIIIG words’ to confuse them. Gr! Why is life so hard? Ok, not the question here. Why is writing so hard?

Well, I’ve found some helpful solutions. I’m going to research the most vile and disgusting thing that there is in this world: Teenagers. (That actually pays homage to Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers: The Movie.) Actually, I have an idea presented to me through a critiquer and I think I’m going to take it as far as I can. Now to find more teenagers willing to talk to me. Maybe I can convince some aliens to abduct them and me. Force their conversation. No wait, that’s a plot for a book. Which leads me to….

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

2 Responses

  1. Jetes dans certains “likes” “dudes” et “whatevers”. Et, voila! Tu as un adolescent!

  2. I’ve noticed this same thing. When I’m in YW listening to the 13yo girls, I’m surprised at how strangely they talk, the way they giggle, etc. Maybe get involved w/ the YM.

    and yeah. my draft is forever away from being done.

Comments are closed.

